Sign In
Search Icon
Menu Icon
Program Offices and Leadership

Patrick Hernandez

Director, Office of Incident Command and Control,​ Deputy Assistant Secretary for ​Preparedness and Response


Patrick Hernandez joined the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) ​in the Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response (ASPR) in December 2020 to serve as the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Incident Command and Control.

Prior to joining ASPR, Patrick was the Deputy Director for the United States Mint at the Department of the Treasury where he served as the ranking career SES supporting the Director in leading and overseeing the successful execution of the Mint’s mission. This included the protection of all assets entrusted to the Mint, as well as the design, manufacturing and distribution of legal tender coinage for the United States, precious metal bullion, national medals and numismatic products across six facilities with the U.S.: Headquarters, Washington DC; production facilities in Philadelphia, PA, Denver, CO, San Francisco, CA, and West Point, NY; and finally the U.S. Bullion Depository at Fort Knox, KY.

Prior to the Mint, Patrick was a Deputy Assistant Administrator for the Department of Homeland Security/Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in charge of the Field Operations Directorate. In this capacity, he was responsible for development and maintenance of the infrastructure and critical delivery systems required to educate, train, develop, manage, and deploy over 16,000 people in FEMA’s Incident Workforce and three National Type I Incident Management Assistance Teams to support State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial disaster survivors and first responders nationwide. In addition, while serving at FEMA, Patrick deployed to numerous disasters to lead incident response operations – most notably the 2011 Alabama Tornadoes, 2012 Super-Storm Hurricane Sandy in NY, the 2017 Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico, and the 2018 Hurricane Michael in FL.

Prior to joining FEMA, Patrick had the privilege of leading Marines as a commissioned officer in the United States Marine Corps where he retired in 2010.